Random is Order

"Creativity is the ability to introduce order into the randomness of nature." ~ Eric Hoffer

It appears I am missing something.

on July 1, 2013

And that something would be the root of my tooth.

Yes, you read that correctly. I’m now missing the root of my tooth because I had the great misfortune of having my first root canal today. And yes, it was just as much a surprise for me as everyone else.

Basically, I bit into something on the right side of my mouth last night that resulted in a severe shooting pain through a lower molar. The shooting pain rapidly progressed into a constant, throbbing ache that prevented me from getting any sleep because it hurt so bad that I couldn’t put my head down even on the opposite side without pain. So this morning after Roger got up and we started our DMV drama (see my Random Monday post for more details if you are interested,) I started calling around to find a dentist I could see today. After one x-ray and a quick physical exam, the dentist bundled me off to an endodontist for an emergency root canal.

Now, I haven’t mentioned this before, but I am terrified of needles. As in, I have a panic attack when I need to have blood drawn or need a shot, so you can imagine how very not well I respond to needles in my mouth. Fortunately, my PCP understands my phobia and has given me a prescription for anti-anxiety medication when I need blood work or other needle-y types of medical procedures.

Anticipating that I might need to have a filling replaced, I had planned ahead and brought my meds with me. Unfortunately, even a double dose of my anti-anxiety meds AND my first foray into the use of Nitrous Oxide did not prepare me for the six – yes, you read that right – SIX shots that I needed to numb my lower jaw, after which a woman I wish to never see again proceeded to drill out all four nerves in my tooth, and replace them with a temporary filling.

I’ll be honest and admit that I didn’t really know what a root canal was before today, and I’m kind of completely mortified that I now have what amounts to a dead tooth in my mouth. Roger keeps assuring me that it is a very common thing, and that it’s better to have a dead tooth than one that will cause continued pain and other issues. Apparently, the root canal was the only option because I had a very large filling in that tooth that had cracked in several places, and subsequently allowed a significant infection to develop. The endodontist was actually quite surprised that I hadn’t had pain prior to Sunday night given all the fractures.

Unfortunately, since this is a holiday week, I won’t be able to go back to my regular dentist until next week for a “build-up” where they reconstruct the tooth followed by the placement of a crown for permanent wear. In the meantime, I have a rough little stub of a tooth hanging out in my mouth. I also look like a chipmunk who was only able to find enough nuts to stuff in one cheek, and my whole jaw is throbbing. I get to take antibiotics for the next 10 days, and Tylenol for pain.

Since I can barely open my mouth and only have a temporary filling in that one tooth, I am restricted to soup and ice cream (seriously, that’s what the endodontist said) until I can have the buildup done and the crown placed on my tooth. While I have a few recipes for soup, I don’t know that I have enough to last me for the next week without getting bored so I’m off to see if I can find a couple of decent ones for chicken and rice soup and loaded baked potato soup to tide me over.

So there you have it. The second reason why today totally sucked. I guess it could have been worse (in theory,) and I might have needed more involved surgery. Still, $700 for a root canal, tooth reconstruction and a crown is not my idea of a fun way to spend money. I’d MUCH rather buy subscription boxes, or spend that on a vacation. Unfortunately, I had no choice in the matter.

My jaw is starting to hurt again so I’m off to take some more Tylenol, and try to get some more sleep. Between no sleep last night, and all the stress from today, I’m pooped, and can really use some solid rest so I can do well on my test tomorrow. I’d end this post with a PSA on taking care of your teeth to prevent stuff like this from happening, but it’s not really appropriate. You see, I DO take good care of my teeth, and crap like this still happens to me. It’s called genetics, baby, and it’s a real PITA.

So, thanks for stopping by, and reading my tale of woe. I hope your Monday was significantly better than mine. Blog at you later!

Cheers, Shauna

3 responses to “It appears I am missing something.

  1. I have had THREE root canals, and they are no fun at all. Do not skip the crown, or you will re-injure your tooth and have to get a SECOND root canal in the SAME TOOTH and the second one is even more fun than the first one.

    • Shauna says:

      Thanks for the advice, and sorry for your three root canals. I keep telling Roger I feel like I got hit by a Mack Truck. I fully intend to share your little tidbit about the crown with him.

  2. […] After my dental torture on Monday, my endodontist told me to only eat soup and ice cream until I get my post and crown put in next […]

Leave a Reply

