Random is Order

"Creativity is the ability to introduce order into the randomness of nature." ~ Eric Hoffer

Random Monday 6/24/13

on June 24, 2013

Random Monday @NotInadequate

“Monday is an awful way to spend 1/7 of your life.”

I’m super feeling this quote today, and just had to add it here. It’s exceedingly appropriate for my mood.

Once again, I’m linking up with my bloggy friend Deb, over at Not Inadequate for a little beginning of the week randomness.

– My new classes for the second half of the Summer semester began today, and I’m already cranky. They’re super-accelerated because they cram 16 weeks of material into 6 weeks. All of my classes this term are online which I normally love. Of course, I only love it if the professors are organized, and I’ve already realized one is, and one isn’t. As an event and hospitality management major, I will admit that my classes aren’t exactly rocket science, especially since I already have experience in the field. Still, some can be pretty challenging, especially with the short time frame.

Today, the professor for my most difficult class emailed to let us know that he is at a conference, and won’t be posting any info about the class until Wednesday at the earliest. He went on to assure us that it would be OK because we won’t have any assignments due this week. This is NOT ok because it means he will be packing 16 weeks of work into 5 weeks instead of the measly 6 weeks we are supposed to get. I am annoyed by this. Somehow, I’m sure there will be more info to come on this topic.

– Speaking of school, I am quite pleased to note that I have received solid As in both of my first term classes, so I’m 50% of the way to my goal of a 4.0 for the Summer term. President’s List is SO CLOSE I can taste it!

– I got the sneak peek email for July’s ipsy bag, and it has a full size Benefit Cosmetics Benetint! I love Benefit, and swear by their mascara, They’re Real!, and I’m a big fan of this product also, so I’m super-excited. I can’t wait!

Benetint!

Benetint!

– I spent the better part of two days working on a scholarship application, and stressed all over to get it submitted by the deadline, only to find out the deadline was extended by two weeks. I guess that’s nice, but I’m irritable that they said people who submitted by the original deadline won’t get bonus points for submitting when we were supposed to. I know that sounds petty, but there’s a lot of money up for grabs, and I could really use some of it.

– I had a great time this weekend on my mini-Summer break, but I didn’t get much done around here so now I feel behind. I just have to finish editing my Julep box pics, and that review will be ready to go. I also picked out the cutest pics of the furbabies to feature in their intro post, and I am working up a post about our visit to the Kennedy Space Center. I’m hoping to get two of those three up tomorrow, plus fix whatever craziness is happening with my Categories section.

– And finally…

– My current song captivation of the week is centered around the new Daft Punk song, “Get Lucky”. This one also features Pharrell singing the most blatant hook-up lyrics I think I’ve come across. I honestly didn’t care at all for the song until Roger pointed out how catchy the completely inappropriate lyrics were, but now I inexplicably find myself singing it at random moments. Yes, the lines are totally wrong, but it’s a complete ear worm, and I just can’t keep it out of my head!

That’s it for today’s randomness. Thanks for braving it with me. Blog at you later!

Cheers, Shauna

4 responses to “Random Monday 6/24/13

  1. Not Inadequate says:

    I hope you get some scholarship money! I know how expensive college is.

    Thanks for linking! Have a great week!

    • Shauna says:

      I do, too! I got a decent one from the school last year, but only $1,000 for next year for making Dean’s List both of my first two semesters. I could use an extra $1,000 to $6,500 which are the amounts this one is awarding. I just hope my transcripts make it there in time so I’m eligible.

      I was happy to link up. I love that I finally get to participate! Thanks for dropping by!

  2. emzisue says:

    I signed up for ipsy in June so i’ll be getting my first bag in July. I’m pretty excited about it and really hope it has some great stuff! Good luck with the scholarship and I hope your summer semester goes well! I’m doing a summer semester as well and they really do suck in terms of time constraints. What are you studying at school?

    • Shauna says:

      Thanks for dropping by! I’ll be doing the ipsy happy dance with you later this month. Did you see the sneak peek about the Benetint in July’s bag? I’m excited!!

      I’m doing a double major in Event Management and Hospitality Management. I love the majors, but summer classes suck no matter what your major is. Thanks for the scholarship wish. Fingers are crossed!!

Leave a Reply

