Random is Order

"Creativity is the ability to introduce order into the randomness of nature." ~ Eric Hoffer

Introducing…

on June 16, 2013

well, me.

I know I’m pretty much talking to myself right now, but I still feel compelled to share some basic info in a post for anyone who doesn’t want to wade through a whole About Me page.  So, this is basically just a quick intro so you’ll have at least some idea of who is doing all this rambling about random stuff.

So, as you might have caught on, my name is Shauna.  I’m in my mid-30s, married to a great guy named Roger, and live in Orlando with our furbabies, 2 cats named Arkhe and Phelia, and our pup, Gracie.  I grew up in Texas, and moved to California in my early 20s.  After living there for several years, Roger and I decided to move out to Florida to be closer to his family, and because California is a super expensive place to live.

After trying out a few places in Florida, we ended up in Orlando because it is close to my beloved Walt Disney World.  It’s fair to say that I’m a pretty big Disney fan, and it’s been my dream to work for Disney since my first trip at the age of 14.  Once we moved here, I immediately started applying to jobs at WDW, and finally got hired.  I’ve been there just over a year, and I LOVE it!  I especially love that I have the ability to make a difference in a guest’s visit to Disney, and I always try to make magic whenever possible.  I honestly think it makes my day just as much as the guest’s.

I only work part-time at Disney because I decided last year to go back to school full-time to earn a degree in Event Management.  It was kind of an odd decision because I’ve worked in the non-profit industry for 10+ years as an event and volunteer manager so I’m basically earning a degree in a field where I already have a ton of experience.  After taking a few classes, I decided to add on a second major so now I’m double majoring in Event Management and Hospitality Management.  It’s a lot of work, and means that I really have to focus heavily on school, and not so much on work which has meant a huge adjustment in our income.  Fortunately, Roger is a geologist, and makes pretty good money so we make it work.  It just means fewer trips, and a little less spending.  It’s not that big of a deal though because we live in Orlando in the center of the theme park industry, so there’s always something new or exciting going on around us, not that I have much time to enjoy most of it.

For fun, I love to craft, read books, and watch “fluffy” tv.  I knit, scrapbook, rubber stamp cards, and sew.  I’ve also recently stopped resisting and joined Pinterest, and I’m finding lots of new craft projects to make.  Sadly, I don’t have much free time, so I don’t get to actually do much of this stuff.  I really spend more time on practical things like studying, (oh dear heavens, the endless studying), meal planning, and converting recipes to make them appropriate for freezer cooking.  I will be posting more on the topic of freezer cooking in the days to come, but for now I’ll just say that we try to do as much of it as possible to help us eat well, and spend less.

I’ve recently discovered subscription boxes, and subscribe to a few at the moment; My Paper Pumpkin, ipsy, Julep Maven, Birchbox, Goodies Co. and GLOSSYBOX.  I won’t talk much more about that in this post as you can check out My Subscription Boxes page for more info on that subject.  I love these little boxes of goodies because they do a great job of introducing you to new things that you would likely never find on your own, and they are usually a great value.  Plus, who doesn’t love getting boxes of goodies in the mail each month?  The other reason I signed up for them is because I find myself getting more into makeup and beauty products as I get older.  I’ve been blessed with great skin most of my life, but I’ve started seeing little lines and spots here and there, and I know that I have to be proactive about taking care of my skin before it really starts to rebel.  It seems odd that I’m getting to be more girly as I get older, but I’m just going to embrace it, and keep going.

So, there you have it.  A lot about me, but at least you’ll know who I am as you read all the random stuff I post.  And I can guarantee it’s going to be pretty random, because as my blog title states, Random is Order, and that’s how it works in these here parts.

Thanks for reading.  Blog at you soon!

Cheers, Shauna

Leave a Reply

